The Department of Energy (DOE) is the arm of the Ministry which is charged with the responsibility to govern and oversee the management of the Nation’s Energy resources;
DOE also coordinate stake holders’ actions in the energy sector of the Republic of Liberia.

The Department of Energy comprises of two (2) bureaus:
. The Bureau of Hydrocarbon
. The Bureau of Alternative Energy.
The department is headed by the Deputy Minister for Energy, while the two Bureaus are each headed by their respective Directors.